Mt. Longonot: The Come-Back

If I was given money for every time I visited Mt. Longonot, I would be rich. But I just can’t help it. It’s the “Starting Point” for me – like a reference point. It’s where I always seem to return. It’s where everything Begins

My last visit to Longonot, on the 28th of August, 2017, was a very emotional one. I recall having drafted a blog about it, but then let it be as you cannot move one when you are attached to memories and emotions.

But looking back, now, August 28th was nothing short of a “burial” ritual. As I scaled the rim, trying hard to hide the tears brimming in my eyes, I said good bye. That was the first time I had visited Longonot – and the last time – as the Old Me: Emotionally abused  and  part of a toxic relationship, burdened with the responsibility of keeping Summit Seekers alive, lost and defeated. It felt estranged.  It was  my worst visit to Mt. Longonot,  by far.

And then, October 8th happened. Women who Hike – Kenyas maiden hike. Once again I had to step into a leadership role, and take charge. It was already overwhelming to have such a great response – 28 people! Most of them Newbies, and I had no idea about their temperaments.

I was scared. I really was. Did I still have it in me? Could I still do this? With my health issues would I make it?.

It was like the universe aligned itself and decided to calm my fears and anxiety by making sure everyone stepped up and worked as a TEAM. Never have I had such a “Stress -Free” and relaxed hike. Everyone helped and took charge in their own way. The entire hike was a huge success and everyone had a great time!

The feedback we received was tremendous. I still can’t believe I did this. Of course, it would never have been possible without the support and believe that some individuals had in me. WWH -Kenya only became a reality because of them.

Longonot Alia FB.JPG

We go back again on the 12th of November, 2017. Like “Joe” said, “I can see us going Far”. And that’s where I want to take #WWHAfrica.

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-09 at 12.13.06 PM

THANK YOU! To every single one of you who made this possible! For being part of this. For believing in this! Ahsant!


“For feedback I truly can’t think of anything you could do better! You have really clear instructions. Had us all prepared. Picked a great first hike!! It was really challenging! Coordinated the transportation beautifully got us there and back in time and were generally so wonderful and encouraging! Thank you SO much” – Erin

Leave a Reply

