The Phoenix…

I have subscribed to an online tarot site that asks you to draw a card every day. It’s been a while since I drew one, and when I did this morning I picked the Phoenix.


The Phoenix Tarot Card is one of Rite.

An initiation, ritual, rite of passage, a mile-marker, or significant event in one’s personal history.

By definition a rite of passage is a ceremony or event marking an important stage or event in someone’s life, especially birth, puberty, marriage and death. Drawing this card can indicate an important turning point in one’s life, a passing of certain spiritual tests, and achievements. If you are inquiring about a situation or relationship, the phoenix is not to be taken lightly, You will be transformed. Always for the highest, but the journey may not always be the easiest. Stay true to your heart during this time.


For those of you not familiar with the Phoenix, it stems from Greek Mythology and is a long-lived bird that is cyclically regenerated or reborn.

This really resonated with me. I am at a stage of rebirth – rising from the ashes, just as the phoenix.

Phoenix.jpg

Again the choice of colors were those that I am drawn towards (shades of reds) but these are also traditionally associated with the Phoenix.

I had a hard time drawing and painting the phoenix (darn brush). Although there are so many variations available online, I wanted one that I could relate with. Grand!

And while searching for the phoenix, I also came across some amazing quotes (I am “this close” to getting a tattoo) – see which one resonates with you. I love them all

“Everyone dies, but not everyone lives”


“In order to rise from its own ashes, a Phoenix first must burn”


“The Phoenix must burn to emerge”


“The Phoenix hope, can wing her way though the desert skies, and still defying fortune’s spite, revive from ashes and rise”


“Hope rises like a Phoenix from the ashes of shattered dreams”

20170808_160643-01

4 thoughts on “The Phoenix…

Leave a Reply

