Review: May 21 – 27… Silent Bliss

This week went by quite quickly. I cannot say that it was very eventful, but it gave me alot of time for some introspective work and R&R Time.

Alas! the skies were clear Friday night and after what seemed like ages, I was finally back on the courts for a game of tennis on Saturday morning. We played for almost 2hours. I did not have any knees left after the game. Thankfully we had a function at the most later that evening, so I opted to rest it out in the afternoon. The function, 15th Sha’aban was celebrated with an all night vigil at the mosque followed by a day of fast. 81.1KGs

Having stayed up all night till the crack of dawn, I woke up close to mid-day on Sunday. My knees were raging havoc and we had spent the entire night at the mosque on the floor, crossed legged. Anyway, not much point complaining. The day was spent lingering in bed till about 6pm. We were back at the mosque to break fast with other community members. 81.0Kgs

And it’s a new week. Starting Monday, I changed my workout regime. Instead of heading out at 6am and working out for an hour. I now leave much later, but now workout longer. Some days I incorporate both swimming and HIIT. Did I mention the complements I received at the mosque on Saturday night? No? Ah, well, I was overwhelmed. Everybody noticed how much weight I had lost and complemented me till I was walking on Cloud 9. I had worn a pretty cream vintage dress that I had picked up in Thailand, and it fit perfectly now. 80.8Kgs

Temperatures are falling. The winter is coming in. I went for a swim today with temperatures at 16 degrees. For Nairobi, this is cold. Temperature will continue to fall gradually until  mid July and then come up again by end of August. If there is something I cannot stand, it’s the cold. I know I survived through much lower temperatures in Ausi, but the problem with Nairobi’s Cold is that it is bone chilling. 80.8Kgs

The cold is not helping much with my diet, especially being at home. There is not much once can do except Eat. But I have been keeping an eye on what I pick on. Right now my top of the list favorite is the “Confused?” Skittles! I spend the better part of Wednesday hurdled up on the sofa with my Tab, catching up on some reading and exploring ways on how to get this blog “out there”. I made a new page (did you notice?) that tends to reiterate better what this blog is all about. I am amazed how far I have come from mere health and fitness blogging. Yoga in the evening was a blessing. the Sun Salutation variations helped warm up the body and sleep comfortably in spite of chilling temperatures in the night. 81.0Kgs

Thursday finally arrived. I have been waiting with anticipation for today, with all my fingernails chewed off due to anxiety. Remember the bank job that I keep mentioning. Well, today the CEO (from Pakistan) was to meet with the heads of CBK to discuss the delays in licensing. Thank God! The meeting went well, and if the final requirements are met, I could well find myself at work starting July! 81.0Kgs

TGIF! we are 14 degrees this Friday! Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr….!! I put off going for my workout hoping the sun would come out, but I ended up going anyway and getting drizzled on too. Ah well! My eating is really out of whack now. I was not surprised this morning when the scales had jumped up past the 81 mark. I have three weeks till my next review, and I HAVE to be in the 70’s. 81.2Kgs

And that wraps up my  week folks. I have an exciting weekend to look forward to. Tomorrow (Saturday), if it doesn’t rain tonight, I’ll have my game of Tennis. We have our Eat, Pray and Love Book Review later in the afternoon. I am excited to hear what experiences the other women had with the book. I am not sure at this point I want to take up a book for next month, being Ramadhan. Let’s see how that goes. On Sunday, hopefully, if the weather holds, we have a prep-hike at Karura. We climb Mt. Longonot again next weekend.

I have been compiling a list of mountains and trails that we need to do before we take on Mt Kenya in December, and Mt. Kilimanjaro in February next year (IA). It’s going to be an exciting 6 months from here, so keep watching for Hikes and Climb updates!

Well, I’m off to read the last few pages of EPL. You have a fabulous weekend. And if you happen to be somewhere where the sun is shining, spare me a thought!

2 thoughts on “Review: May 21 – 27… Silent Bliss

  1. Thank you my dear. We get so consumed with the end goal that we do not notice for ourselves how far we have come. Hence the gentle nudges from other to keep going. Trust you are well my lovely

    Like

Leave a Reply

