Running – a new passion???


“Running teaches me that I am capable of so much more than I ever imagined”


 

I knew that in order to to see a change, I had to make THE CHANGE.

After three years of unsuccessful weight loss training in a gym, I made one of the toughest decisions of my life – to quit the gym.

When I spoke to my trainer about it, he was not very happy. He feared that without exercise, the weight would just pile back on and I would be making it harder for myself to reach my weight-loss goals.

However, when I returned from my vacation in Thailand, I felt a shift. With the FLL program in gear, I had only added 300gms to my pre-holiday weight. I now wanted to speed up the process by engaging in full cardio.

The last couple of weeks in the gym before the holidays were focused on running on the mill with little or no weight training. So, I figured if I had to only run, I rather take it outdoors and also work towards my other goal (remember, 5K). So, instead of paying my subscription at the gym, I got my track fees paid up, and started running mid last week.

I have always been lazy when it came to running. I used to hate it as a child, firstly because I was a chubby girl, and looked ridiculous running, and secondly, yes I’ll say it again, I was plain lazy.

When my trainer stepped up the game and got me to run on the treadmill, I absolutely hated it. My “Happy Place” was no longer that anymore, and it was frustrating looking at everyone else actually running (and looking great) while doing it, while I was panting and holding on to dear life. But, somehow, the desire to run, this time round came from within. I have NEVER run on a track, never encouraged myself to jog instead of walk, never even tried (the treadmill, to me, doesn’t count). So this new found enthusiasm is quite unprecedented.

Plus, with only three months to reach my target weight (20Kgs to lose), this seemed like the best thing to do to get me out of my comfort zone, and to kick start the process.

I downloaded the C25K app to motivate me further. But for someone with absolutely no training in outdoor running, it was a killer. The recovery (or walk) intervals were too short. So I was huffing and puffing my way around the track, I think I even survived two side stitches along the way. I realized, I had to build up stamina first before using the app.

So, what I have been doing since last week , is half walk-half run the track. I’m not sure what the track distance is at this point, but that is my strategy.

My (new) thoughts on running?

I never thought I would say this, but running is addictive. I look forward to soon being able to run the entire course without taking a walking-break. Also, I do have a Marathon in my bucket list (and goal for this year) so, if any of you have any advice or tips… I’ll be happy!

In the mean time, keep moving!

Leave a Reply

