Thailand…. Ushering in the New Year the THAI way

Well, what better way to usher in the New Year than being in an exotic place!

This was an unexpected trip. I usually travel after the New Year, mostly Mid-January, when peak season is over and done with and travel costs are not that sky-rocketing. But with a new job beginning in January, it was either now or in 2017! So after going through our options, Thailand seemed the most “pocket friendly” at the time.

So, as is my habit, I usually make up a list of places that I’d like to visit and experience.

Top on my list is the transvestite cabaret show. We will have the opportunity to see one in Pattaya. I came across a couple of them in Australia, and I was always fascinated by them. Would be interesting to see them all dressed up and performing.

Alcazar

 

TIger Temple

Next, I want to pet a Tiger. Well that was until I read a random post about how the tigers are mistreated. Packed in small rooms, cubs taken away from there mothers when they are merely 2 weeks old and fed formula upon formula. No exercise, no proper diet (they cannot afford meat as it is “too expensive” but are building a huge monastery outside). Well, Its already been slotted in, so will just have a look.

Kwai

Then there is the famous Floating Market and River Kwai. I am looking forward to visit Kwai and revisit history in the making.

Of course there is the famous reclining Buddha (Wat Pho)and the 5 and a half tonne Solid-Gold Buddha (Wat Traimit) as well that Thailand is famous for.

budh

Not to forget the huge shopping experience awaiting me… The Chatuchak Market and humongous malls all full of merchandise available at a bargain, I’m sure.

Shoping

Another interesting place I would like to explore is the Asiatique Riverfront. From what I heard and read, it is an amazing place to visit with over 1500 boutiques and 40 restaurants. Can’t wait for that!

Asiatique2

Well, here is to a splendid holiday and an even amazing 2016… Let’s do this!

 

Note: All photos are courtesy of Google and are copyright of their respectful owners. 

Leave a Reply

