Week 4 : “I Keep trying to lose weight…but it keeps finding me!”

It is the second week of Ramadhan, and by this time that the body usually adapts to the routine of fasting.

It is also the week where Iftar invitations pour in, and I’m guessing you all know what that means.

I will be honest. I had grown so accustomed to looking at food in the form of “Proteins”, “Fats” and “Carbohydrates” that whenever we attended these Iftar dinners and I saw the well laid tables in front of me, I likened “Samosas” to “Fats”, “Biriyani” to “Carohydrates”, and “Raita” as my only protein source. So, I would literally hoard the Raita (yogurt) bowl and then have a few spoonfuls of the Biriyani just to be polite. And God help me if there was no Salad on the table!

But this year, things are different, aren’t they? Last week we were invited for a few Iftar dinners, and sure enough there were immense spreads of food that are typical at these sorts of gatherings. And I will admit, I did have a bit of everything, in moderation.

Note to self: Could this be the reason why, after an elated week of weight loss, this week the scales tipped upwards? Or is this the body now fighting back?

Moving away from that reservation, I noticed this week that my metabolism had settled, and my energy levels were definitely back up, if not at par. I would certainly like to take this moment to pat myself on the back for having received a compliment from my trainer, who said, that he could never manage to train the way I did while fasting. (SMILE!) I even managed to get in a session of Tennis and I survived my fear of dying while playing in a fasted state

With a few changes made to increase protein intake next week, and not paying a lot of heed to the weight gain this week, we continue to “eat”. And for the many who have asked what kind of a diet I am on, well, I am on a seafood diet. I see food and I eat it!

My Stats:

Weight Loss for Week 4: -300gms
Inch Loss for Week 4: -3.50 Inches

Total Weight (Loss) / Gain: (400gms)
Total Inch (Loss) / Gain: (4.50 Inches)

Leave a Reply

